Donors and partners

IUCN’s philosophy of unity and joint action is exemplified through its work with donors and partners. IUCN counts on the support of a large network of partners who help fund our activities, implement the IUCN Programme, or offer their knowledge and expertise to support our work. Our work is made possible through the generous contributions of a growing number of donors and partners including governments, multilateral institutions, intergovernmental and non-governmental organisations, international conventions, foundations, companies and individuals.

Framework partners

IUCN Framework Partners are a dedicated group of donors who support the implementation of the IUCN Programme through the provision of multi-year core funding. Framework Partners also support the implementation of a large number of on-the-ground projects throughout the world that have significant development and conservation results.

  • Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Finland
  • Government of France:
    • French Development Agency
    • Ministry of Environment, Energy and the Sea
    • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Development
    • Ministry of Overseas territories
  • Ministry of Environment, Republic of Korea
  • Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation
  • Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency
  • Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation
  • United States State Department 
  • MAVA Foundation

Government partners

  • Australian Agency for International Development
  • Federal Ministry for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs, Austria
  • Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management, Austria
  • Bangladesh Forest Department
  • Ministry of Forestry and  Wildlife, Cameroon
  • Department of Environment and Climate Change, Canada
  • Chinese Academy of Science
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs,  Denmark
  • Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Germany
  • Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety, Germany
  • German Agency for International Cooperation
  • National Parks and Wildlife Service, Ireland
  • Italian Ministry for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation  
  • Ministry of the Environment, Japan
  • Jeju Special Self-Governing Province, Republic of Korea
  • Ministry of the Environment, Luxembourg
  • Principality of Monaco
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Netherlands
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, New Zealand
  • Norwegian Environment Agency
  • Forest Department – Government of Sindh, Pakistan
  • Environmental Protection Agency, Government of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, Pakistan
  • Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Environment, Spain
  • Ministry for the Environment and Spatial Planning, Junta of Andalucia, Spain
  • Ministry of Mahaweli Development and Environment, Sri Lanka
  • Marine Environment Protected Authority, Sri Lanka 
  • Ministry of the Environment and Energy, Sweden
  • Federal Environment Office, Switzerland
  • Federal Office for the Economy, Training and Research. Switzerland
  • Geneva Service for International Solidarity, Switzerland
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Netherlands
  • Ministry of Agriculture, Environment and Food Quality, The Netherlands
  • Ministry of Climate Change and Environment, United Arab Emirates
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, United Kingdom
  • Department for International Development, United Kingdom  
  • Unites States Agency for International Development
  • United States Department of Agriculture - Forest Service
  • United States Department of the Interior - Fish and Wildlife Service
  • United States Department of the Interior, National Parks Service
  • Millenium Challenge Corporation, United States 

Multilateral Institutions

  • African Development Bank
  • African World Heritage Fund
  • Arab Regional Centre for World Heritage
  • Asian Development Bank
  • Convention on Biological Diversity
  • Convention on International Trade of Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora  
  • European Union, through the European Commission:
    • Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO)
    • Directorate-General Environment (DG ENV)
    • Directorate-General Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (DG MARE)
    • European Commission, Joint Research Centre (JRC)
  • Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
  • Global Environment Facility
  • International Centre for Research in Agroforestry
  • International Finance Corporation
  • International Fund for Agricultural Development
  • The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands
  • Southeast Asian Fisheries Development Center
  • United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification
  • United Nations Development Programme
  • United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
  • United Nations Environment Programme
  • West African Economic and Monetary Union
  • The World Bank

Non-governmental organisations

  • African Wildlife Foundation
  • A Rocha International
  • BirdLife International
  • Boreal Songburd Initiative
  • The B team
  • Cambridge Conservation Initiative
  • Caribbean Natural Resources Institute
  • Conservation International
  • Croatian Herpetological Society
  • The Blobal Biodiversity Information Facility Secretariat
  • Global Wildlife Conservation
  • HELVETAS Swiss Intercooperation
  • International Cooperation Centre in Development Agronomic Research
  • International Livestock Research Institute
  • International Olympic Committee
  • Leibniz Institute for Freshwater ecology and Inland fisheries
  • IUCN National Committee of The Netherlands
  • The Nature Conservancy
  • Oxfam
  • Royal Society for the protection of Birds
  • The Sargasso Sea project, Inc
  • TRAFFIC International
  • Save the Elephants
  • Southasia Institute of Advanced Studies
  • Stockholm International Water Institute
  • Stockholm Resilience Centre
  • Swissaid
  • Winrock International
  • WorldFish
  • World Resources Institute
  • World Wide Fund for Nature – International
  • Zoological Society of London


  • Arcadia Fund
  • Arcus Foundation
  • Argidius Foundation
  • The Asia Foundation
  • Bread for the World
  • Critical Ecosystem Partnership Fund
  • German Federal Foundation for the Environment
  • Engro Foundation
  • Ford Foundation
  • Fundación Biodiversidad
  • Fundación Gonzalo Rio Arronte
  • International Centre for Agricultural Research in Drylands Area
  • The Aage  V. Jensen Charity Foundation
  • JRS Biodiversity Foundation
  • John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
  • Keidanren Committee on Nature Conservation
  • Manna Foundation
  • Mitsubishi Corporation Fund for Europe and Africa
  • Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation
  • Rainforest Trust
  • Sasakawa Peace Foundation
  • Fondation Segré
  • Sri Lanka Business and Biodiversity Platform
  • Swedish Postcode Lottery  Foundation
  • Sylvia Earle Alliance – Mission Blue
  • Synchronicity Earth
  • Total Foundation
  • Turtle Survival Alliance
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Natural Resource and Life Sciences
  • University of Qatar
  • University of Western Brittany
  • University of Wolverhampton

Companies and corporate foundations

We wish to thank Toyota Motor Corporation for its significant support to The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species.

IUCN’s engagement with business is guided by the Business Engagement Strategy as well as the Operational Guidelines for Business Engagement. The majority of the funds we receive are used to transform business practices.  For information on all business engagements, visit our Business and Biodiversity Programme pages.

Contact us

For more information on how to support IUCN's work, please contact us at:

Strategic Partnerships Unit
28 rue Mauverney
1196 Gland

Email us at:

Go to top